WAS JESUS A MAN?

NOW I WANT TO TALK FAITH AND REASON

Yesterday I went to Apostolic Church. I enjoyed the service and once it was over, the Pastor and I went to pizzeria where we ate a pizza and drank some wine. Afterwards in the car, owing to the wine we had drunk, we set off a discussion about Gospels, faith, reason, Virgin Mary, salvation and so on.
“Don’t you believe in the Gospel?” said the Pastor;
“Yes, I believe in it” was my answer “but I want also to use my brain. I want to understand before believing.
“What parts of the Gospel do you like I explain to you?”
“There is a deep rift between Protestants and Catholics on one hand and Jehovah’s Witnesses on the other hand. For you Jesus was the Son of God, for Jehovah’s Witnesses he was a man, a mortal ordinary man. Who is right?”
“Obviously the Jehovah’s Witnesses are wrong, as they don’t understand the mystery of Trinity that means Father, Son and Holy Spirit are a unity, a whole”
“ Yes” I retort “ but explain to me, please, for what reason Matthew in his Gospel report the Jesus’ genealogy, starting from Abraham for ending with “Jacob was the father of Joseph the husband of Mary, by whom Jesus was born, who is called the Messiah ( Matt 1:16.). If Jesus was really the Son of God it is a nonsense the reporting of His genealogy!”
“By whom was born… is referred to Mary, not to Joseph!”
Then we talked Virgin Mary.
“Before Jesus was born Virgin Mary didn’t have any sexual contact with Joseph, afterwards She had sex with Her husband, as you know” said the Pastor “Jesus had brothers”.
“I don’t consider sex as a sin. From sex springs life. If you consider sex a sin, also life has to be considered sin”.
Then we broached the issue “salvation”. For the Pastor only Jesus is the way which leads to salvation. For me Jesus is symbol of “Love”, so if we practice Love all the paths will lead you to salvation. In fact it cannot exist a God Who changes His face according to the Religion we are practicing.
I have written a book “Travels of the Mind”. In it I point out a new way of living. My website is http://www.ettoregrillo.com
ETTORE GRILLO

Leave a Reply

